Chasing Wanderlust

Wanderlust is the feeling, the unsettling urge, to travel to far off lands, to experience newer things, getting away from the rutt of life.

I personally advocate travelling to everyone. Yet this heightned focus on wanderlust irks me a little. The society we live in has become systematic-atomistic individuals engaged in mechanistic activities. As Karl Marx had famously claimed- Capitalism has Alienated Man.

We are all busy, and rightly so, in making a living. Day in and Day out, like guinea pigs in a laboratory, we keep running, running, running, no where.

image
Sunset from my window!

Hence the urge to run away.
We have forgotten to see the wonder in things- hence the unsetlling urge to get somewhere else.
Our cities are like cobwebs of concrete and smoke. Yet inbetween those threads of despair, you will find little wonders, if only you keep your eyes open.

For example,
a few days back, an old farmer from Rajasthan was my co-passenger in the city bus
(DTC for the people who know)
As a matter of habbit
(which I am trying to inculcate)
I asked him about his life.
He said he was around his late 20’s when India got independent, but he doesn’t know his age. (Somewhere around 80-85)
In the process of knowing more,
I happend to ask him how he managed by himself.
He smiled and pointed across the aisle where his wife sat
and said –Maari beendini hi maari laathi hai”
(Translation-My wife is my walking stick)
Then he looked at her with such an expression of revere. And she quietly blushed and looked away.
This couple has been married for 60 years!

image
They were a shy couple, and were a little scared of posing for a picture. The husband lovingly suggested that I take a picture of his wife, as she still looks as lovely as she did on her wedding day.

We are so used to running, that we seldom stop. Running without time, running without oxygen, running without company, running for ourselves, without ourselves, from ourselves.

I say Stop!
Breathe, look around a little.
We clog our ears with earphones and listen to tunes to drown away the noise of the city. But isn’t that noise of the city a part of what peoples dreams are made of? As more and more of us strive to reach the city with its twinkling lights and wonders to make a life, those who have made one, or are in the process, are aching to run away.

I want everyone to be blessed with experience the joy of travelling far and wide. But I also don’t believe in putting off happiness to a destination. I have heard it so a thousand times over- I will be happy as soon as I leave this place. Why?

As cliche’d as it sounds; One can be happy wherever they are. As happiness is a state of mind. Chasing happiness is a race we can never win.

As much as we chase wanderlust- Look  closely around you-There is wonder everywhere. When was the last time you stayed up and watched the Sunrise, chatted up an old friend, or made a new one? When was the last time you helped a stranger, or took a bike ride on the highways.Immersed yourself in the petrichor, felt the soothing late evening summer breeze, smelled that addictive aroma of Diesel/Gasoline, Ate from a roadside stall, enjoyed the music that is formed from the incessant honking, or followed a group of marching ants?

image
A band out on an adventure!

I know city life is tough, and often in finding a life, in carving a niche we tend to forget ourselves. But you don’t need to run far and wide, and chase mirages trying to find yourself. All you have to do is look within!

P.S.- Look a little closely around you and you will find humour in everyday things.
For example- How yesterday I happened to come across Lord Shiva enjoying the city summer afternoons.

image
I was in the bus!

I hope you get to experience little wonders in everyday life.

(All pictures are orginal, from a Micromax Canvas A1)

(I am trying to capture little miracles in my photography, things that often people tend to miss.
Incase you have recently experienced  something wonderful in the rutt of life, do share your experience. I would love to hear about it)

– Fictionatrix

26 thoughts on “Chasing Wanderlust

  1. Wow! This is such a beautiful post πŸ™‚
    We tend to observe such things only when our mind is free from our own thoughts and wants us to look beyond its circumference, which is beautiful always.
    I haven’t clicked pictures on way, but after this I’ll definitely do, to remember the beauty we often miss amidst our occupied life.
    Btw, is the bus route is to west Delhi? Just curious to know whether I guessed it right or not.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou. I am glad my thoughts resonated with you. πŸ™‚
      In my case personally, I tend to focus outwardly more inorder to be free from the thoughts I have. I am an escapist, but I am trying to balance the two.

      I would encourage you to take pictures-It is s a great way of collecting souvenirs. πŸ˜€
      Also this is towards Dhaula Kuan so South Delhi.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think sometimes people think everything will change just because they go to a new place. They don’t realise that the changes they want rarely happen overnight.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, well my mind experiences all the seasons in the span of a day, so the feel and flow of a post depends on what time was it written. πŸ˜€ I wish it was spring all time round, but spring needs winter too!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Okay so I was reading this and came across the word petrichor and I had to ask purely out of curiousity if you were a Doctor Who fan??? Also I did enjoy this post a lot I’m all about wanderlust but there are still parts of my backyard I have yet to discover and I love when I find joy in my mundane life πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, You caught me! I am guilty of being in love with a Time travelling immortal man-child. πŸ˜›

      I am glad you enjoy the post, I do love the concept of Wanderlust myself, however the over emphasis on getting happiness on the other side is what troubles me a little. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s so cool! I can always pick out fans right ahaha!
        And yes it’s like the saying “the grass is always greener on the other side” while it might seem true your grass would be just as green if u took the time to water it πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

