A soul passes over…

Those of you who read my blog would know that my dear dog was feeling very unwell.
Well, Bruno, passed away yesterday evening.
9 years, 1 month and 15 days.

image

When I got the news, (I wasnt at home) I didnt know how to handle it. My mum (who was with me) broke down instantly. But I was somewhere else. It all seemed like some nightmare, a part of me kept hoping it would pass, I would wake up to a wet nose hoovering over my face.

But, alas, this happened. And I wish it hadn’t.
He came to us, a little pup, had barely opened his eyes. I cannot fathom how and when 9 years have gone by.
But my baby was suffering, he was in pain, and I am glad his suffering has come to an end.

image

His last day with us was actually the best so far. We had lunch in the garden, he was basking in the sun. He was peaceful and calm. It made us hopefull that he’d pull through. He died in his sleep, at peace.

I would have no one to help me, lend a paw, a floppy ear when I am sad, no one to bury their furry face in my sweaters, no one to play with, to dance with, to share treats and secrets with. The mutton I got for you is lying in the fridge.  There were so many things I wanted to do, if only I knew.

I am thankfull, my Christmas miracle was that despite not staying here, I got to be a part of the last leg of his journey. And for that I am ever so gratefull.
Wherever you are Bruni, I hope you are happy. Take care of Baba, Dadi and Frisky, they will love you and tell you stories. And whenever you feel like, do pay a visit,  Didi shall wait for you.

image

ā¤ 

19 thoughts on “A soul passes over…

  1. I am sorry about your loss. Your Bruni was a good looking doggie:-) I read your post, and as much as I wanted to hold back my tears I wasn’t successful. I lost my Alex, a 13 year old pit mix, 4 1/2 months ago, and for some odd reason I was thinking about her last night. I thought of how much a year can make a difference. Mourn your loss, but just like me, I am glad you are thankful for the time you had with him. The best to you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou Marcele. :’) The best part, he wasnt a pedigree dog, Mum found him on the steps of a temple, abandoned by his mother.
      I am sorry to hear about Alex, I imagine a beautiful heaven where Alex and Bruni are prancing around. ā¤
      Yes I am thankful his suffering his over, and I am sure he is happy wherever he might be.
      Take care, Merry Christmas!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Damn. That one hit me right in the feels. My condolences. The article is very beautifully written and in fact reminded me of certain passages I read from Kalam’s book ‘My Journey’ only day before yesterday. The way he wrote and dealt with the death of his loved ones is very akin to your emotions, I guess it is because death and our grief are universal after all. Sorry for your loss. It’s a great article! We all share the same pain…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou. It is an honour I cannot accept and yet am thankful for being equated with a great personality as Kalam :’)
      Yes, we all feel the same pains and troubles. I like to think that we are all at different chapters of the same book. Thankyou for your kind words, I am sure Bruni baba appreciates them all.
      :’)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

