This Valentines, Love yourself.

So valentines is here! Yet again *sighs.
For most of us, the single people this is a nightmare!

We wish to remain burried in our houses, under our blanket forts than associate with society.
And since this year it happens to fall on a sunday, work is no excuse.

image

We are The Loners
We will not let anyone enjoy, like they should.
Any expression remotely implying love would bring immense hatred in us.
We are the ones who roll our eyes at kisses, and throw soda cans at couples and disrupt proposals.
(Slight  exaggeration but you know what I am getting at.)

And not generalising, but still most of the time, the loners are the ones who have lost love or were crushed by love or are waiting for love but haven’g got any.

image

But, its time to change things around a bit.
The whole concept of Valentines Day to me is a large commercial cnstruct made to bring revenue to Multi nationals that produce those heart shape chocates, jewellry or teddy bears.
The act of expressing love doesn’t need a specific day. I know there is a historical significance.
But love isn’t restricted to the conventional Couple love.

image

Love is everywhere, in all relationships. But most of all, it needs to be within you and for yourself.

Psst, I’ll let you in on a secret- I actually had someone ask me out for valentines day but instead I refused, because I couldnt handle the pressure.

I kept thinking why me. Maybe he was awfully lonely and thus I was a just convenience.

Anyway, the whole point of this post is to remind you, that you are special in your own way.

That we all need love, but self love is most important. All our relationships get altered the day we begin to appreciate ourself.

image

So this valentines, do something for yourself.

Despite having high fever I attended food festivals across town, attended an Urdu poetry fest and bought myself a handmade leather bound journal.

And honestly, a lighter wallet and heavier belly does no harm. *Feels content*

image

Do something, anything that makes yoy happy. That makes you joyous.
Don’t bother with what other people are thinking.
Most people would pity you, or try fixing you up.
You need to make decisions which make you feel good about yourself.

I love food. It makes me feel good. It doesnt reject me, understands my feelings, and is always there.
Food is my valentine, and I honestly had great fun this weekend. *Barfs

image

Just kidding! All jokes aside.
You can try something different.
Maybe hang out with friends, go to a convention or stay at home and watch re runs of your favourite show. Not because you are a victim of this commercial enterprise.

All of us can be complete in ourselves. and if you don’t feel it right now. Make efforts in that direction.
Afterall, New year resolution making can extend till June right. πŸ˜› 

Last but not the least. Whether you have or don’t have a valentine. I love you my dear readers. Sending you lots of love, wishes and warm hugs. Take care. ❀

12 thoughts on “This Valentines, Love yourself.

Leave a Reply

