Collecting Souvenirs

In my family, I am known as the hard drive. From about the age of 2 years, I can recall details about the 10 schools, 18 houses and 8 cities that I have spent my life in.

For special instances, like a life altering event, for instance, when my grandparents died, I can recall everything. Who was there, what were they wearing, the clouds in the sky, the smell of incence sticks. For such instances the files in my brain have HD video with Dolby surround sound, and often slow motion effects in sepia filters.

But I am also growing up. And the more memories I make, the more I am fearful that I may forget. Since I pride over my abilities to recall, it is crucial for me to remember. What will happen when I grow old? Since I am the one who makes people remember tiny little details, who will remind me then?

We love to travel. My family is a travel freak family. But collectively, we came to realise, that after seeing so many things, your memories tend to blur at times. Photographs are there, but in this digitised world, who has the time to go through files looking for a particular image.

This made me think about journals. Now, as I child I wrote diaries for quite a long while. They were my friends and confidants. You can imagine the despair my little heart went through, as I had to change yet another school and city. However, as time went by, their secrets became heavy, for them and for me to carry. And so I stopped.

Years later, I have mustered courage to do it again.

image

AT Chandertal, Spiti, Himachal Pradesh

Hopefully, this time, I will not stop.
Each sketch, as and when I make them, will have the date and place.

I can imagine myself, years later, alone somewhere, or perhaps with my grandchildren, going through these journals, and instantly being able to feel the cold, bone chilling winds of Chandertal or the aromatic pine winds of Kinnaur.

I have for a while associated diaries with the darkest phases of my life. Despite the strength I derived from them, they also held those secrets which I feared would incenerate my image in front of all those I hold dear. And who, have no idea of what I go through.

I wanted to change my views on an activity so intrinsic to my survival. This time, I have decided to record all the good and the beautiful in my diary. Instances, quotes, sketches.
The mind and heart are enough for the bad. Its the good I need to be reminded of, time and again.

Its a bit late to make a new years resolution, but by putting this out here, I am hoping I can hold myself accountable. Lets see.

image

At Kalpa Valley, Kinnaur, Himachal Pradesh

12 thoughts on “Collecting Souvenirs

  1. Wonderful post and a great thing that you’re starting to keep journals again!

    As for memories, I did read somewhere once that each time we recall a memory, we actually recall the last time we recalled it. So memories do get hazy over time eventually!

    Thus, keeping a journal is an excellent idea, Cheers πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Most people succumb to life as it paves their path, few among them create memories during their ups and downs and yeah! At a later point of time, one is certainly left with the memories he had once created. It forms an intangible part of his/her life. Kudos! That your approach towards life is one among the few who dont live life, just for the sake of scrolling the days, but make most out of small bits & pieces of it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Definitely, and I really appreciate your attempt to give words and story to every unseen and minute details in your segment pic-tales. I got to voyage through Pretty good thoughts and musings about life and people, but only thing I want to add is, If your writings give you solace and relaxation, definitely (however absurd it may appear! ) your writings too somewhere in their heart want to see your smiling face, and hence I just ask you to share your happiness and try to communicate at max. with your writings. I think, probably then you would enjoy your life even more! And here you get one more follower. Thank you to muse me with your writings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

